comment 0

I forgot about that old photography hobby of mine

It used to be when someone asked my hobbies, rather than giving them a blank stare, I mentioned I liked photography. I’ve loved taking photos since I first learned how to use a camera, but I think as phone cameras have increase in quality, it’s been increasingly easier for me to leave my DSLR in storage.

I dusted off the ol’ Nikon D80 today and brought it to the zoo, where I joined the 800 other people who had cameras around their necks. I may have been a walking cliche, but I not only got to check out what the animals were up to (they were pretty active on a warm winter day), I got do so while remembering what all the buttons do on my camera.

It wasn’t until our second hour there I remembered to check my ISO. But I think baby steps are a good thing if it means I’m doing something I love for fun again.

(I couldn’t give up one of the perks of the cameraphone though: filters. I used Autodesk Pixlr on these.)

Filed under: Blog

About the Author

Posted by

I am a writer living under a pile of scrap paper and unopened fan mail from the cable company. I believe a messy desk is simply a sign of inspiration waiting to be uncovered. But I’m biased. More from me on Twitter: @zoeywrites

Tell me something

