comment 0

How to: Record your Mac’s screen (with video)

I’m working on co-creating an online course with ZEDS right now and need to perfect a few teaching tools. One of the most fun ones? Recording my screen as I do awesome things and narrate.

Screen recording trumps video, too, because I don’t have to brush my hair to get something that looks good.

In the clip below, the audio is all from YouTube’s music selection, but I can record my own narration easily as well. How? Quicktime! Conveniently already loaded onto my Mac.

Simply open Quicktime and choose File> Start Screen Recording. The little pop-up has a record button and, to the right, a small white triangle.

Screen recording using Quicktime

Click the triangle to choose your microphone input, such as your computer’s built-in mic. I found that it picked up a lot of static that way, but did the job. Much better is my H1 Zoom recorder, which I just today learned I can turn into a USB microphone.

You can also choose whether to highlight the mouse’s clicks in your recording. If you enable this, your clicks are highlighted with a faint circle. Handy if you’re demonstrating something that involves clicking, I’d figure.

When you’ve got that set up, click the record button. You’ll get an option of two ways to record: click anywhere to start recording the entire screen, or click and drag a specific area you want to record. I found it took a little bit of fiddling before I got my recording area just right, which meant stopping and starting the recording a couple of times.

If you choose to record the entire screen, your recording will begin once you’ve clicked (see above: “click anywhere”). If you select a smaller portion, you’ll have to hit another button before the recording begins.

When you’re done recording, you can end the recording by right-clicking on the Quicktime icon in your dock and selecting “Stop Screen Recording.” There might be a slicker way to do this, but I haven’t uncovered it yet.

Screen recording can be extremely useful for demonstrating products and processes onscreen.

But it can also be fluff.

Like this:

Filed under: How-To, Video

About the Author

Posted by

I am a writer living under a pile of scrap paper and unopened fan mail from the cable company. I believe a messy desk is simply a sign of inspiration waiting to be uncovered. But I’m biased. More from me on Twitter: @zoeywrites

Tell me something

