comment 0

A to-do list worth doing for 2014

20131226-101449.jpg

Over mulled wine and glitter, a friend said to me recently that she “didn’t believe” in making plans for a new year. It wasn’t specifically New Years Resolutions that she poo-poos, but it seemed the idea of starting a new year with a laundry list of lofty goals isn’t her thing.

I admire that her thing is planning to do things and then just getting the damn things accomplished. It sounds a lot more effective than my habit of musing about things then dragging my heels on ’em until I build up enough of a callus that I can move onto musing about the next project.

But I love taking the time to reflect and reset at the end of the year. Almost as much as I like making a list of things for the year to come. When you make a to-do list, you set yourself the opportunity to cross the things off your list at some point. Ah! Such a feeling. I’m spending the week of Christmas in the mountains with the family and it’s given me some opportunity to finally sit still and dream big for next year.

These are some things I really think I would like I’m just going to do, dammit, in 2014.

  1. Read 15 books (a failed goal from 2013, but I have hope!).
  2. Plan a non-fiction book that I could write an outline of within the year
  3. Edit or otherwise decide what to do with the 50,000 words I wrote for NaNoWriMo
  4. outline a memoir project that involves the extended family members I can wrangle into being interviewed for it
  5. Visit family out east
  6. Doodle and ask an artist for tips
  7. Go swimming
  8. Write more freelance articles
  9. Visit LA for the first time (eat tacos)
  10. Talk to and learn from more authors
  11. Write a new 5-minute stand-up comedy routine and perform it at an amateur night
  12. Learn what grants are available to me if I want to write books
  13. Practice fancy legible handwriting
  14. get a GST number (Done! Jan. 30)
  15. Dispose of (recycle/donate/chuck) things as soon as they need to be disposed of
  16. Keep my desk clean (clean it once a week;piles aren’t productive)
  17. Try a new recipe from Bread Bible, Drunken Botanist and at least one other cookbook monthly
Filed under: Blog, Personal

About the Author

Posted by

I am a writer living under a pile of scrap paper and unopened fan mail from the cable company. I believe a messy desk is simply a sign of inspiration waiting to be uncovered. But I’m biased. More from me on Twitter: @zoeywrites

Tell me something

