Brunch at Diner Deluxe
comment 1

I’m hooked on brunch in Calgary

Have I mentioned lately that I love brunch?

Brunch at Galaxie Diner never lets me down. Here's smoked salmon eggs benedict and bottomless hash browns.

Brunch at Galaxie Diner never lets me down. Here’s smoked salmon eggs benedict and bottomless hash browns.

Calgary is Awesome asked me to write about something that I think is awesome and after some deep contemplation, I decided my Calgary passion these days is smothered in hollandaise and best served around 11 a.m.

So with hash browns in my heart (or at least on my mind) I wrote an ode to brunch.

Brunch in Calgary is awesome… including the crazy lineups

There’s a March snowstorm outside. Calgary police have advised against driving and the lights are flickering across the city. Still, I walked a blustery five blocks and waited just 15 minutes in the blowing snow—don’t worry, it was a dry cold—to get this single seat at the counter. And it was so worth it.

It’s cosy in the Beltline diner, with just enough space for the servers to slip between the tables of 10:30 a.m. brunchers. The next hungry lot is chattering cheerfully while crammed up against one another in the make-shift waiting area. There’s a growing line on the other side of the door, too, comprised of resolute, chilly wannabe diners.

Read the rest at CalgaryisAwesome.com.

Filed under: Blog, Calgary Features

About the Author

Posted by

I am a writer living under a pile of scrap paper and unopened fan mail from the cable company. I believe a messy desk is simply a sign of inspiration waiting to be uncovered. But I’m biased. More from me on Twitter: @zoeywrites

1 Comment so far

  1. Pingback: So you want to be a civic census taker? | Zoey Duncan

Tell me something

