comment 0

I want to know: What’s changing in your neighbourhood?

In a city of 1.1 million people, there are countless stories that go untold by the mainstream media because there’s just no such thing as having enough resources in the news industry anymore.

hyperlocal logo

So when I was offered a chance by CBC Canada Writes to tell some hyperlocal stories of change in my neighbourhood, I was eager to add my two cents (or nickle. Or am I supposed to round down?).

During the month of April, I will be telling stories about my inner-city neighbourhood of Sunalta as part of CBC’s Hyperlocal project. I’m talking about what’s changing in my neck of the woods, where we’ve come, and where we might go if I have any say in the matter.

For a glimpse at what I’ll be chatting about in my CBC blog, see my Hyperlocal Q&A, in which I reference our local crackhouse problem, a beloved, but bumpy, ice rink and my new favourite pakora.

[Read my first Hyperlocal blog post: Hip-adjacent in Sunalta]

I’ll be chatting about my ‘hood and the project on the Calgary Eyeopener on CBC radio tomorrow morning at 8:20 a.m. My goal is to seduce you with my dulcet radio voice to contribute your own hyperlocal stories to the interactive story map that launches tomorrow.

Your stories can be submitted as text, photo essays, audio or video and not only are you putting your neighbourhood on a national stage, but you could win the grand prize of a MacBook Pro and get your story turned into an interactive story by the National Film Board.

So I want to hear from you: what would you like to write about when it comes to your neighbourhood?

Filed under: Blog

About the Author

Posted by

I am a writer living under a pile of scrap paper and unopened fan mail from the cable company. I believe a messy desk is simply a sign of inspiration waiting to be uncovered. But I’m biased. More from me on Twitter: @zoeywrites

Tell me something

