OK. It was opening day.
comment 0

That time I got stuck on the Peace Bridge

OK. It was opening day.

A typical day on the exceedingly popular pedestrian bridge.

The following blog post was written as part of a 10-minute blog post exercise during my company’s September edition of Social Media Wit, a workshop that combines the skills of comedy with social media. 

The Peace Bridge opened on March 24, 2012. On a cool spring day, it was just me and 3,000 of my closest friends there for the special event.

I had no idea that many people would be interested in a bridge-opening ceremony. There wasn’t even any free booze.

Once Mayor Nenshi and the ceremonial stilt-walkers in chicken suits crossed the bridge, the commoners were allowed to step onto the smooth concrete. It did not collapse!

Why did me and my 3,000 friends cross the Peace Bridge? To get to the other side. That’s it.

It took a long time to get across because we all did it at once. I am a short person so it was especially difficult. It was like being on the C-Train at rush hour: all butts, elbows and nausea.

Once we arrived on the north side of the bridge, we walked back to the first side again. There was still no booze and the mayor was gone.

Filed under: Blog

About the Author

Posted by

I am a writer living under a pile of scrap paper and unopened fan mail from the cable company. I believe a messy desk is simply a sign of inspiration waiting to be uncovered. But I’m biased. More from me on Twitter: @zoeywrites

Tell me something

